Eagles News · Spring Sports Recognition 2018

The 2018 springs sports recognition night awards banquet was held on Monday (5-21).  Congratulations to all spring sports athletes and spring sports teams.

Spring Sports Video

Thanks to Cheryl Hall & Jason Krucek / Parents and Coaches who contributed photos

United States Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award

Female winner – Cassie Burkey-Kubasky (Softball)

Male winner – Garrett Fess (football, Track)

Marine Award

SWC – Scholar Athletes

This spring’s scholar athlete award winners are:

Girls Track        Emily Statzer             Softball    Cassie Burkey-Kubasky

Boys Track        Nate Gajowski          Baseball   Cole Wagner

Boys Tennis      Sean Kronz

Scholar Athletes

OHSAA Scholar Athletes 2017-18 Sports Season

Girls – Danielle Lajko

Boys – Nathan Gajowski

Scholar Athletes

Team and Individual Awards:


Greater Cleveland Baseball Coaches Association – All Academic Team – Sam Guercio, Eric Adams, Cole Wagner, Zach Holly, Anthony Novak, Kyle Sobota Greater Cleveland All star game – Anothony Novak, Sam Guercio, Kyle Sobota

Northeast Ohio All star game – Eric Adams, Cole Wagner

Academic All-Ohio –Anthony Novak, Eric Adams, Kyle Sobota, Cole Wagner

Eric Adams Honorable mention All SWC

Clay Rainey Honorable Mention All District, Honorable mention All SWC

Cole Wagner – 2nd team All SWC, All District 2nd Team

Cole Wagner – was hit by a pitch 19 times this season and 38 times in his career. Ranked 9th all time in OHSAA history.

HM and All SWC honors will be decided Wednesday evening – at SWC coaches meeting


Izzy Reich – Player of the Week Nominee for Morning Journal & West Life

Jessie Varnis – Player of the Week Nominee MJ, 2nd team All SWC

Honorable Mention All Northeast District – Abbey Healan, Jessie Varnis

Academic All Northeast Ohio -Alexandra Balson, Cassie Burkey-Kubasky, Gina D’Onofrio, Grace Laurenzi, Abigail Rigda, Jessica Varnis, Marie Wyman

All star game selections – Cassie Burkey-Kubasky, Grace Laurenzi

All SWC Honorable Mention – Abbey Healon and Cassie Burkey-Kubasky


JV Tennis – SWC Tournament – 4th Place

Varsity Tennis  –  SWC Tournament – 4th Place

Individual Honors

Saajan Patel – 3rd Place SWC Championships

Honorable Mention All SWC – Matthew Lupu and Saajan Patel

Sectional quarterfinalists –Sajaan Patel

Boy’s Track and Field

1st place – Brookside

2nd Place – Fairview Relays

2nd Place – Avon Relays

3rd Place – Sandusky Perkins Invitational

6th Place SWC, 6th Place District Track Meet

Individual Honors

Cory Heitmann Regional Qualifier 300 hurdles, Regional Finalist

Ben Tomcho  Regional Qualifier 400M

Garrett Fess – Honorable Mention All SWC,  Regional Qualifier HJ and 300 hurdles

Christopher Sherman – Honorable Mention All SWC,   Regional Qualifier 200 Meters

Kevin Sherman– 2nd Team ALL SWC 110 Hurdles, Regional Qualifier 110 Meter Hurdles, Regional Finalist

Lucas Blaufuss – 1st Team All SWC Pole Vault – School Record Holder, Regional Qualifier Pole Vault

School Record – Kevin Sherman, Garrett Fess, Matt Sanborn, and Cory Heitmann – Shuttle Hurdles (Brooke meet record at Fairview, Avon, and Bulldog Relays)

Girl’s Track and Field

4th Place at the Fairview Relays

5th Place at the Brookside Relays

Individual Honors

Honorable Mention All SWC – Julia Scardina

Honorable Mention All SWC – Nicole Chalkwater

The 2018 Spring Sportsmanship winners are:

Tennis – Nishant Patel                                 Softball – Cassie Burkey-Kubahsky

Boys Track – Cory Heitmann                      Baseball – Anthony Novak

Girls Track – Jordan Dangerfield

Sportsmanship Winners

OHSAA Archie Griffin – Sportsmanship Award 2018 Sports Season

Girls – London Hughes

Boys – Anthony Novak


OHSAA End of the Year Awards

As part of an ongoing program to promote Courage, Sportsmanship, Ethics, and Integrity, the Ohio High School Athletic Association has set up a program to recognize exemplary students.

OHSAA Award of Excellence – Grace Laurenzi and Matt Sanborn

Matt Sanborn

State Award – Emily Statzer

OHSAA Courageous Student Award – Samer Babi


 Silver and Gold Eagle Awards

The tradition of the gold and silver eagle awards started in 1992.  The gold and silver eagle awards are given to seniors during the spring season of their senior year.  These awards are determined by sport participation, varsity letters, exemplary sportsmanship, and all-conference honors.

Silver Eagle Awards

Samer Babi, Trevor Cairns, Sean Conroy, Ryan Godin, Joseph Harden, Jon Kramer, Sam Guercio, Anthony Novak, Hunter Baylon, Lucas  Duncan, Matthew Lupu, Lucas  Blaufuss, Garrett Fess, Nathan Gajowski, Cory Heitmann, Matthew Sanborn, Kevin  Sherman

Anne Bloomfield, Carlie Brahler, Danielle Lajko, Molly McCoy, Nataly Puente, Monique Samrani, Hannah Storer, Alyssa Sully, Cassie Burkey-Kubasky, Grace Laurenzi, Jordan Dangerfield, Emily Statzer

Silver Eagle

Golden Eagle Awards

Meghan Hardin and Matthew Hull

Meghan was unable to make tonight’s ceremony.